‘The Ulster Giants’ – Ulster Rally Winners from 1976 – 2023, is the latest and fifth book in Alan (Plum) Tyndall’s series on the winners of the Irish Tarmac Championship rounds in the various regions of the country.

Like ‘Heroes of the Hills’ (Donegal International); ‘The Western Warriors’ (Galway International); ‘Coleman Country’ (Cork 20 & West Cork rallies), and ‘The Kerry Dancers’ (Killarney Rally of the Lakes), this new 127-page full-colour book, contains spectacular photographs and accounts of all the Ulster events.

Hours have been spent sourcing action shots from Ireland’s top photographers like the late Esler Crawford, Seamus Counihan, Col Courtney, Trevor Foster and most importantly the RallyRetro archive, covering the Group 4, Group B, Group A, World Rally, and R5 eras.

The book recalls the exploits of drivers like our own Billy Coleman, Bertie Fisher, Andrew Nesbitt, Eugene Donnelly and Craig Breen. The British Championship contestants like Jimmy McRae, Russell Brookes, Mark Lovell, Gwyndaf Evans, Malcolm Wilson and the unforgettable Colin McRae.

Then you add in the international visitors that came like Pentti Airikkala, Stig Blomqvist, and the incomparable Walter Rohrl, who all conquered the Ulster lanes over this forty-seven year period.

‘The Ulster Giants’, which retails at £19.99 (€23) + P&P, is available now online at:

For further information contact:
Alan (Plum) Tyndall T.0044 7887827150 alan@rpm-motorsport.com