A new 80 page book – ‘Heroes of the Hills’, about the winners of the Donegal International Rally (1972 – 2018), will be launched at the start of the 2019 event at 9am at the An Grianan Theatre in Letterkenny on Friday 21st. June.

Broadcaster and journalist Alan (Plum) Tyndall and Ireland’s acclaimed photographer Dr. Esler Crawford who have been enthusiastic followers of the Donegal Rally since its inception have combined to put into words and pictures, a record of the winners in the rally’s forty-six year history.

From Cathal Curley (1972) to Manus Kelly (2018) there have been twenty-three drivers have triumphed and top of that list comes Andrew Nesbitt, a six time winner, who is featured on the cover. We have also seen three World Rally Champions in ‘The Hills’ – Ari Vatanen and Sebastien Loeb who came to win and did and Colin McRae who came along just for the craig.

Between Curley and Kelly’s three wins a piece there have been many ‘Heroes in the Hills’ and sadly some of them are no longer with us. But none have been more popular than the four local drivers who have taken the top honours – Vincent Bonner (1983), James Cullen (1991 – 1999) and Manus Kelly (2016 – 2017 – 2018).

‘Heroes of the Hills’ will be on sale for £15 (€19) during the rally weekend and online on www.rpm-motorsport.com from 21st. June.